JH Pub Awards 2018

Joseph Holt toasts to pub achievements at The Annual Pub Awards 2018

Manchester Brewer; Joseph Holt held its fourth annual Pub Awards event on Wednesday 21st March at Haydock Race Course.  The event welcomed over 230 guests from Joseph Holt Brewery, Award Sponsors and Joseph Holt Pub finalists to the ceremony.  The event is a celebration to recognise the great achievements made by the Pubs and their staff in the past year and award them for their significant contributions made year on year. These prestigious awards are meticulously judged throughout the year by the Cellar Services team and external independent judges, who also sponsored the categories ensuring the pub meets the strict criteria to go through to the semi-finals in their nominated category.

There were 15 awards this year with 2 special Pub of the Year and a Best Newcomer award was introduced for 2018. This is for any manager or retail partner who have been in their pub less than a year and are already exceeding budget and expectations.

Much of the success of the event is credited to the generous category sponsors; Unified World, Walkers, Coca-Cola, Heineken, Hammonds of Knutsford, Regal, Centre Glass and Hygiene, Diageo, Sky, Underwood, Bidfood, IB Construction. Joseph Holt would also like to give thanks to our table sponsors; Design 306, Branching Out Two, ACME, TLC Building Contractors, Medlock, AEL Solutions, Mansfield Soft Furnishings, Arhus Fire Protection and Muntons.

Guests and semi-finalists were greeted with a prosecco reception, as well as treated to a 3-course meal after the award announcements, followed by a day at Haydock Park Racecourse with the chance to visit the paddock. Joseph Holt were also pleased to have comedian and compere Jamie Sutherland re-host the event following his big success with the guests last year.

Prizes for each category saw 1st place take home £1000, 2nd place £300 and 3rd place £200, with exceptions to Team Member of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Pub of the Year. For these categories, there is only one winner.  The winners of Team Member of the Year and Long Service Awards each took home £500.

The winners of each category plus the company sponsor are as follows:

1.  Serve with Style: Sponsored by Unified World

3rd Black Dog: Jim and Debbie Bollard

2nd Morning Star: Maureen Patterson

1st Friendship: Gary and Gaynor Hindley

2.  Serve with Style: Sponsored by Walkers

3rd Cock o’Budworth: Michelle Dickinson

2nd  The Hayfield: Louise Dodd

1st The Mill: Kerry Lewis

3.  Team Member: Sponsored by Coca-Cola

Nominations in this category:-

Sabrina Delphan from the Cock at Budworth

Dominic Henshaw from Platform 5 (Now at the Woodthorpe)

Leanne German from the Horse and Jockey (Now at the Roebuck)

Winner: Dominic Henshaw from Platform 5

4.  Team Member of the Year: Sponsored by Heineken

Nominations in this category:-

Maureen Black from The Cricketers Arms

Debra Crump from The Griffin, Heaton Mersey

Phylis Brown from The Lord Nelson, Pendlebury

Winner: Debra Crump from The Griffin, Heaton Mersey

5.  Best Bar Team: Sponsored by Hammonds of Knutsford

3rd The Imperial: Gavin Mathams and Team

2nd Platform 5: Liz Hardman and Team

1st Roebuck: Dan Baxter and Team

6.  Best Bar Team: Sponsored by Heineken

3rd Crown-Horwich: Gary and Beverly Parker

2nd Duke of Wellington: Andrea Clancy

1st The Park-Monton: Mark and Lesley Williams

7.  Newcomer of the Year: Sponsored by Regal

Nominations in this category:-

The Quadrant: Kellie Dixon

The White Lion: Ailsa Miller and Ian Mulqueeney

The Winston: Daryl Jennings

Winner; White Lion: Ailsa Miller and Ian Mulqueeney

8.  Newcomer: Sponsored by Centre Glass and Hygiene

Nominations in this category:-

The Angel: Emma Kendal-Crispin

The Griffin, Heald Green: Nikki Rickkard

The Roebuck: Dan Baxter

Winner: Nikki Rickard from Griffin Heald Green

9.  Best Kept Cellar: Sponsored by Joseph Holt

3rd The Mill: Kerry Lewis

2nd The Clock Tower: Heather and Paul Stonely

1st Platform 5: Liz Hardman

10.  Best Kept Cellar: Sponsored by Joseph Holt

3rd Atherton Arms: Steve and Janet Morris

2nd Hare and Hounds: Sal Dahouchi

1st Duke of Wellington: Andrea Clancy

11.  Best Food Pub: Sponsored by Underwood

3rd The Legh Arms: Paul and Christine Naylor

2nd The Norfolk Arms: Carol Midgeley

1st The Morning Star: Maureen Patterson

12.  Best Food Pub: Sponsored by Bidfood

3rd The Bowling Green: Claire Dix

2nd The Richmond: Andrew Crosbie

1st The Marsh Mill Tavern: Kat McCarron

13.  Best Wet Pub: Sponsored by Coca Cola

3rd The Griffin-Heald Green: Nikki Rickard

2nd The Angel: Emma Kendal-Crispin

1st Platform 5 : Liz Hardman

14.  Best Wet Pub: Sponsored by Diageo

3rd Old Bulls Head: Tina and Andrew Edge

2nd Church Inn: Tracey Burns

1st Duke of Wellington: Andrea Clancy

15.  Long Service Award: Sponsored By Joseph Holt

Phyllis Brown from The Lord Nelson-Pendlebury

Phyllis has worked for Joseph Holt since 22/11/1988

Final two Awards: The two Pub of The Year Winners:

Pub of The Year sponsored by IB Construction

Winner is: Platform 5: Liz Hardman

Pub of The Year sponsored by SKY

Winner is: Duke of Wellington: Andrea Clancy

Congratulations to all of our winners and to everyone that took part. Thank you again to all of our generous sponsors for making the event a great success and a huge celebration for all involved. It is a fantastic opportunity for us as a company to recognise all the hard work our Pub Managers and Retail Partners put in. We look forward to the 2019 Joseph Holt Pub Awards and wish all the pubs the best of luck.

To view all of the pictures from our Joseph Holt Pub Awards, please visit Joseph Holt Facebook Page.

We just need to check you’re 18 or over?

Remember my decision

As an independent family brewer we are committed to safe and responsible drinking.