pub award 2020 winners haydock

Joseph Holt Pub Awards 2021! And The Winners Are…

Joseph Holt welcomed over 250 guests to Haydock Racecourse on Thursday 2nd September for the much-delayed Pub Awards ceremony! And what a fantastic day it was!

Originally planned in for March 2020, we finally had the chance to celebrate our fantastic pubs in style, alongside pub managers, finalists, brewery staff and award sponsors.

The Pub Awards is an annual event to celebrate and recognise the great achievements and contributions made by our pubs and their team members over the past year. In total we had 15 awards to give out, all independently judged to strict criteria.

With a record number of pubs and individuals as finalists, choosing the winners was a tough ask! After the last 18 months, we send a huge and heartfelt thank you to all pubs for their support, resilience and determination.

So, without further ado, let’s see which pubs took away the awards and cemented their place in Joseph Holt history.

pub awards 2020 table

#1 Best Wet Team – Sponsored by Heineken

1. White Swan
2. Imperial
3. Hare & Hounds

#2 Best Kept Cellar – Sponsored by Joseph Holt

1. Hare & Hounds
2. Church NH
3. Sun & Castle

#3 Most Improved Cellar – Sponsored by Fresh Start

1. Richmond
2. Lord Nelson, Urmston
3. Lychgate

best kept cellar hare and hounds

#4 Best Food Team – Sponsored by Brakes

1. Crown and Anchor
2. Water’s Edge
3. Mill at Upton

#5 Newcomer of the Year (Wet Pub) – Sponsored by Budweiser

Sue Hawley – Coach & Horses

#6 Newcomer of the Year (Food Pub) – Sponsored by Budweiser

Sabrina Delphin – Angel

#7 Front of House Team Member – Sponsored by BT

Lauren Gill – Blue Bell Moston

#8 Back of House Team Member – Sponsored by TSG

Beth Young – Water’s Edge

#9 Biggest Increase in Joseph Holt Beer Volumes – Sponsored by Centre Glass

1. New Grove
2. Northgate
3. Angel

#10 Most Consistent Food Pub Manager – Sponsored by Northern Catering Butchers (Underwoods)

Sarah Houghton – Water’s Edge

#11 Most Consistent Wet Pub Manager – Sponsored by Coca Cola

Colin Chambers – Railway Inn (LWL)

#12 Long Service Awards – Sponsored by Unified World

Will Tully – Waggon and Horses (IOH)

most consistent wet pub railway inn

#13 Special Recognition (Food Pub) – Sponsored by Ralph Livesey

Kathryn & Tim – The Abbey

#14 Special Recognition (Wet Pub) – Sponsored by WDS

Paul & Kat – The Grapes

#15 Pub of the Year – Sponsored by Sky

White Swan

A huge well done to all of our winners, finalists and everyone involved who make Joseph Holt the company we are!

A big thank you also to our three headline sponsors: Heineken, Coca Cola and Brakes, our award sponsors, table sponsors and bronze sponsors.

We just need to check you’re 18 or over?

Remember my decision

As an independent family brewer we are committed to safe and responsible drinking.